I made it back in the water at the weekend for the first time in 3 months, and have a couple of observations...

1) In the hours after swimming, my pelvic region felt tight. I can't quite put my finger on it, but swimming definitely had an effect on the area.

2) I usually drink a lot of water before and during the pool sessions, so when I got out I was ready for a piss. When I went, it took noticeably longer to relax enough to pee. It was only half a second or so more than usual, but the feeling was that it had locked up.

These two anecdotal observations lead me to believe that swimming has a real and positive effect on pelvic floor muscles and is essential preparation for anyone in the run up to a prostatectomy. The physio is great but the exercises that we get given are different. I wonder if my swimming regime is the reason that I barely had any issues with leakage almost immediately after the op...

3) No one seemed to notice or care about my scars.